Billy Ocean is coming to Bournemouth

By: editor

“When The Going Gets Tough” 30th Anniversary Tour”

Friday 22 April – Oxford, O2 Academy* SOLD OUT
Sunday 24 April – Leamington Spa, The Assembly SOLD OUT
Thursday 28 April – Bristol, O2 Academy*
Friday 29 April – Doncaster, The Dome
Saturday 30 April – Blackburn, King George’s Hall
Tuesday 3 May – Chatham, Central Theatre
Wednesday 4 May – Bournemouth, O2 Academy*
Wednesday 11 May – Cardiff, The Tramshed
Friday 13 May – Wolverhampton, The Grand Theatre
Saturday 14 May – Somerset, Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Sunday 15 May – Canterbury, The Marlowe Theatre SOLD OUT
Wednesday 18 May – Stoke-on-Trent, Victoria Hall
Thursday 19 May – Newcastle, City Hall
Saturday 21 May – Sheffield, O2 Academy*

*ticketweb.co.uk or 0844 477 2000

Legendary Caribbean superstar Billy Ocean is set to return to the stage this spring with his “When The Going Gets Tough” 30th Anniversary Tour”. The biggest black recording star Britain has ever produced; Billy Ocean has sold in excess of 30 million records in his lifetime. With several of those reaching Gold and Platinum status across the world, Billy has achieved extraordinary success as both an artistand a songwriter.

Born in Trinidad, Billy moved to East London at the tender age of seven. Gaining his first big break when signing to GTO records, he triumphantly accomplished a Number 2 spot in the UK charts with his Motown-esque single ‘Love Really Hurts Without You’. Continuing his success throughout the eighties, Billy moved to Jive Records and garnered international acclaim with the American Number 1 single ‘Caribbean Queen’, a track that won him a prestigious Grammy Award for ‘Best Male R&B Vocal Performance’. More hits followed with‘When The Going Gets Tough (The Tough Get Going)’, the theme song to the hit movie, starring Michael Douglas, Kathleen Turner and Danny DeVito, The Jewel of the Nile, to the now classic track, ‘Get Outta My Dreams; Get Into My Car’, giving Billy yet another USANumber 1 hit.

Catapulted into stardom, the soulful singer remained at the top of his game and continued to release timeless material, alongside sold out toursand stunning televised performances, including Live Aid (1985). With non-stop touring all over the world throughout his remarkable career, Billyis undoubtedly one of the most hardworking and influential musicians of all time, performing live for fans of all ages to enjoy his brilliant and best loved songs.

Very special guest for all shows is the fabulous, double MOBO award winning saxophonist, YolanDa Brown.

Billy’s new album, Here You Are: The Best Of Billy Ocean is out on Friday 29 April

FacebooktwittermailFacebooktwittermail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top